Ninth Immortal to be named in 2018

NRL chief executive officer Todd Greenberg has confirmed that a ninth Immortal will be chosen in 2018.

The Immortal announcement will be the first since the National Rugby League bought the intellectual property for the concept.

Speaking at the Courier-Mail newspaper’s NRL season launch, Greenberg said that a ninth Immortal would be named, the first since 2012 when Newcastle Knights halfback Andrew Johns was named as the eighth.

“We made a conscious decision last year to purchase the IP rights for the Immortals,” Greenberg said.

“The Commission felt for a long time that it wasn’t under our banner and it should be, it now is. We will have a very diligent process around our Hall of Fame and ultimately on the election of an Immortal and you can stand by for some big announcements on that in the coming month.

“But rest assured, there will be an election of an Immortal in 2018 and there will be a much greater diligent process about how that is unfolding. And a much more transparent process primarily for fans so they have an understanding of how we’re going to do this, but it’s a very big decision for the game.”

The Immortals are the eight Australian players announced by Rugby League Week magazine as the nation’s greatest ever rugby league players.

The eight Immortals to date have been inducted at different times going back to 1981 when the first quartet were named.

They are:

Clive Churchill (1981)
Bob Fulton (1981)
Reg Gasnier (1981)
Johnny Raper (1981)
Graeme Langlands (1999)
Wally Lewis (1999)
Arthur Beetson (2003)
Andrew Johns (2012)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.
This site uses XenWord.